An opportunity to catch up with old friends…

This time last week, I was on the Tube en route to ExCel to visit World Travel Market, a show dreaded by many (for its vastness and the fact that it’s in Docklands), but loved by me because it’s a great opportunity not only to find out about new and emerging destinations, but to catch up with old media and industry friends.

So here’s a big shout out to three of my favourite place in the world: a city, pristine beaches and majestic mountains…  What more can you ask for?

One of my first visits was to the Hong Kong Tourism Board stand – somewhere I called home for almost 14 years and one of the most exciting cities in the world. I haven’t been back since the handover in 1997 and I know it’s changed dramatically, so it’s high on my list of places to visit next year…


In the afternoon, I headed to the Mauritius stand, where I lived for a year in the early 90s.  I’m always torn between naming Seychelles (where I grew up) or Mauritius as my favourite Indian Ocean destination, but because they’re so different I think I can get away with saying they should both be at the top of “must go” lists.  In my opinion, Seychelles is a lot more beautiful, but there’s more to do in Mauritius…  So it depends on what kind of holiday you’re seeking.


And finally, I went to the Switzerland Tourism stand.  I first visited Switzerland one summer holiday when I was 15 and was so enamoured I asked my parents if we could move there; I had to wait till the late 90s till I got to live in Lausanne, but it was worth the wait!  These days, I have several Swiss clients, so I’m lucky in that I get to visit regularly and the beauty of the Alps still takes my breathe away every time.

Thanks for your hospitality Hong Kong, Mauritus & Switzerland – I hope you have a great year and I look forward to seeing you at WTM 2013!

About HEADYcommunications

I'm Sue Heady, a former journalist, now working as a travel PR consultant, keen to connect with all travel media, whether writers, bloggers or broadcasters. Luxury hotels in Switzerland are a speciality, but I also have clients all over Europe and here in the UK.
This entry was posted in Switzerland, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

